The metamorphosis of a cushion cover …

I think it’s got to the stage where I even dream about crochet! The other night I had an idea to make something using these colours Cream, Meadow and Spice (all in the fab Stylecraft chunky range).

img_0532

At first I was thinking a blanket, but I didn’t have enough yarn in my stash so I decided to make a bag. However, my 10 year old daughter (who thought it was too big to be a bag – what?!?!) then suggested I should make a cushion cover, this is after I’d joined the two ends into a round!!

 I thought I’d go with it, after all it is an experiment, and luckily it does actually fit a cushion pad really well – bonus!

So now I had the issue of the fact that I’d started to crochet a flap for the bag …. ! That’s why it’s now an “envelope style” cushion cover, which I have to admit is going to look really rustic and retro when finished off with a couple of big chunky looking wooden buttons (which I’ve just had to order from EBay!)


The above picture shows how it looks up to now. I’m rather pleased at my first attempt of designing something! I should get it done by the end of the week and then I hope to eventually get a pattern written up to share on here!! 

I think this is why I love crochet so much, it’s versatile and the possibilities are endless and you’re only limited by your own imagination!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

